Posts Tagged "1905"

Sherrard Street c.1905

Sherrard Street c.1905

An Edwardian view of Sherrard Street looking towards the town centre. The green structure on the right is one of the town’s public urinals, placed just outside the Methodist Church. It was said that church-goers could look down into it from the top of the chapel steps! Approx date: 1905. Image ref:...

read more

Burton Street c.1905

Burton Street c.1905

A view along Burton Street towards the bridge. On the left is Colles Hall, and beyond it the vicarage, built in 1760. After the Second World War this building became The Blakeney Institute, and was used as church rooms until the opening of the Samworth Centre in 2000. Approx date: 1905. Image ref:...

read more

Burton Street c.1905

Burton Street c.1905

The building on the left is well known today as ‘The Anne of Cleves’ restaurant. At the time of this photograph it was called ‘The Priory’, and had been a private house since 1760. The building is one of the Melton’s oldest landmarks, with a rich history stretching back to medieval times. Approx date: 1905. Image ref:...

read more

Burton Street c.1905

Burton Street c.1905

On the left is Framland House which was demolished in 1997. On the extreme right is Cardigan House, named after the 7th Earl of Cardigan (famous for the disastrous Charge of the Light Brigade) who hunted regularly in the area. Beau Brummell kept his horses here. Approx date: 1905. Image ref:...

read more

Burton Road c.1905

Burton Road c.1905

Melton from the south, with St Mary’s Church in the background, taken from Burton Hill before any houses were built on the bottom part of Burton Road. On the right can be seen Toad Hall and Claret Lodge, as well as some low canal buildings. Approx date: 1905. Image ref:...

read more